The Boys of Winter


(With apoligies to Don Henley and his song The Boys of Summer)

S’Nowbody on the road
S’Nowmen are of the past
I feel it in the air
The spring is coming fast

Empty yards, empty streets
The sun’s rays can be felt
I’m drivin’ by your house
Though I know you’re gonna melt

But I can see you-
Your ice skin shinin’ in the sun
You got your scarf stuck now and your coal eyeballs on, baby
And I can tell you my love for you will still be strong
After the snow boys of winter have gone


I never will forget those nights
I wonder if it was a dream
Remember how you made me frostbit?
Remember how I made ice cream?
Now I don’t understand what happened to our love
But babe, I’m gonna watch you melt
Coz snow is what you’re made of

I can see you-
Your top hat shinin’ in the sun
I see you meltin’ real slow but you’re still smilin’ at everyone
I can tell you my love for you will still be strong
After the snow boys of winter have gone

Out on the road today, I saw a snowplow stick it to a cadillac
A little voice inside my head said, “don’t look back. you can never look back.”
I thought I knew what love was
What did I know?
Winter won’t last forever
I should just let it go but-


I can see you-
Your twig arms shinin’ in the sun
Your carrot nose is gone but your smile beams on, baby
And I can tell you my love for you will still be strong
After the snowboys of winter are gone.

9 thoughts on “The Boys of Winter

  1. Catching up on blog reading and glad to see some snowmen!! I miss my kids getting out there and rolling that snow and stealing the hats from the basket to put on their snowmen. I am however, waiting for all this snow to go. Enough already.

Go ahead, leave a comment, its easy!

